New Release: Trusting You & Other Lies by Nicole Williams – A YA Romance Novel

Trusting You & Other Lies

Genre: YA Romance

By Nicole Williams

Buy: Amazon / B & N / ITunes / Kobo


Synopsis:

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

“What elevates this novel…is the witty and realistic dialogue and excellent character development.”
–SLJ

_______________________________________

Michel’s Review

Nicole Williams is known for her contemporary romance and new adult novels.  Her latest release, Trusting You & Other Lies is a Young Adult romance novel targeting the high school audience.  This charming book is more than a first love romance, it’s a story of change, acceptance, self discovery, and individual growth.  Something all teenagers are dealing with on a daily basis.  They are evolving from dependent children to independent adults while still heavy influenced by their family and friends.  They are also paving the path for their future.  The pressures of their academic endeavors could make or break their future.  The peer pressure and social media also heavily influence their lives.  Add family expectations and issues, it makes their lives all the more difficult.  Nicole Williams captured all of this in Trusting You & Other Lies.

Readers are first introduced to Phoenix, an angry teenager being forced to spend her summer with her family at a remote camp rather than hanging out with her friends at the beach.  She hates her parents because they have been keeping secrets that could destroy  her life as she knows it.  They seem to be indifferent to her and her younger brother.  She cannot imagine why they would want to spend a whole summer together when they can’t even sit down together for a family dinner.  To top it off this camp is in a remote area where internet and cell service are sketchy.  She’s going to be cut off from her friends completely.  The only reason why she’s cooperating a little bit is her younger brother and the job as a camp counselor.  Harry is excited about the camp, the activities, and the possibilities of making friends.  For her brother she will suck it up.  The job as a counselor will earn her enough money to buy a car when she returns back to school.

They say summer camp is an unforgettable experience that will change a person for the better.  The first few weeks are a complete disaster.  Her family is still not connecting, she’s hopeless at her new job, and her little brother has made friends and no longer needs her as much.  Something changes when she gets to know her boss, Callum,the head counselor at the camp.  Even though this boy is the same age as her, he’s completely different from anyone she knows.  Callum doesn’t take his responsibilities lightly, he holds her to a higher standard and pushes her too much.  When she thinks they are becoming friends he pushes her away.  Callum seems like he’s got it all together but beneath the surface he has insecurities just like her.  He has his own problems and is not immune to the growing pains of becoming an adult.

By the end of the summer Phoenix and Callum walk away from camp different people than they were in the beginning.  Phoenix’s family dynamics also change for the better.  Life looks a lot different when you open yourself up to new possibilities and accept what life has to offer.

As a parent of teenagers I was impressed how Nicole Williams captured the realities of everyday teenage life.  She captured their inner turmoil as well as their exuberant spirit for life.  She also captured the modern day family dynamics rather than duplicating the old fashion family dynamics of the past.

I think most teenagers will be able to relate to this novel and appreciate the story.

__________________________________________________

 4887264Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USATODAY bestselling author of contemporary and young adult romance, including the Crash and Lost & Found series. Her books have been published by HarperTeen and Simon & Schuster in both domestic and foreign markets, while she continues to self-publish additional titles. She is working on a new YA series with Crown Books (a division of Random House) as well. She loves romance, from the sweet to the steamy, and writes stories about characters in search of their happily even after. She grew up surrounded by books and plans on writing until the day she dies, even if it’s just for her own personal enjoyment. She still buys paperbacks because she’s all nostalgic like that, but her kindle never goes neglected for too long. When not writing, she spends her time with her husband and daughter, and whatever time’s left over she’s forced to fit too many hobbies into too little time.

Nicole is represented by Jane Dystel, of Dystel and Goderich Literary Agency.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s