Release Blitz + Excerpt + 5 Star Review: The Consort by K. A. Linde

 

 

After the loss of a friend and false imprisonment in an Eleysian dungeon, Cyrene has no interest in destiny. Her heart was shattered, friends scattered, and her home is nothing but a pretty illusion. Even her magic won’t cooperate.
When all seems lost, she turns to the one person she never thought that she would trust:

Prince Kael.

His darkness mirrors a growing force lurking within her. A struggle she never imagined threatens to consume her. And as friends and foes begin to show their true colors, she starts questioning whether anyone is who they seem.
Even herself.

Amazon USAmazon UK iBooksB&NKoboGoogle Play

 

Time was a wily beast.

It stole. It destroyed. It healed.

Constant and immovable.

And each day brought a new morning.

Time was dependable. And only time could move the world forward.

Time had slipped away from Cyrene. It was a thief in the night, scrubbing away the hours and leaving her disoriented.

At first, all she could feel was the soft bed beneath her body. For a moment, she thought of Dean. Lying against his chest, waking in the morning with his arms wrapped tightly around her, knowing that another night had passed. Another night closer to their wedding.

Then, another second ticked by, and that memory stabbed her in the chest. There would never be another morning like that. There would never be another dawn with Dean. There would never be another moment in Eleysia. For she was bound to Byern. And always would be.

Her eyes flew open, and she scrambled across the bed in horror. Her hand touched her mouth…and Kael Dremylon’s eyes slowly opened with a lazy smile on his pretty face.

“Morning,” he said, biting back a yawn.

“What in the Creator’s name are you doing in my bed?” she all but shrieked.

“Sleeping.”

“How dare you come into my quarters and share my bed with me! Do you think I have no honor? Do you think I have forgotten what you tried to do to me?”

She had woken up curled around Kael! Her leg wrapped around his. Her arm flung across his bare chest. His arms cradling her, as if he even knew what comfort was.

Now, he was staring at her as if she had gone completely insane. How could he possibly think this was okay?

“Do you know where we are?” Kael asked.

He sat up and leaned on one elbow. The sheet slipped off his body, revealing every rippling muscle. She snapped her gaze back up to his face.

“I don’t see how that matters.”

“We are on a Byern warship. This is the only room on the ship with quarters this nice. Otherwise, you can sleep below decks with the crew. Is that what you want?”

She shook her head. “Surely, there must be somewhere else. I can’t be expected to sleep here. What will everyone think?”

He laughed a bitter, rough laugh. “Now, you are concerned about this?”

“If I am to be carted back to Byern, then I should have the luxuries of an Affiliate.”

He held his hand out. “And you are afforded those luxuries.”

Cyrene opened her mouth to argue, but he cut her off.

“This is a war vessel, not a pleasure ship. We are not on procession, like the last time you had the full attention of Byern royalty in your bed,” he said viciously. “If you do not sleep with me, in my rooms, then you sleep below decks. With the crew.”

Cyrene glowered at him. Of course, he would use every advantage that he had while he had her here. And, even though she had never slept with King Edric, it still prickled her to think that everyone, including Kael, believed that she had. But, if it irritated him to consider it, then she wouldn’t contradict him.

“So, you expect me to sleep next to you the entire time I am trapped here?”

“Yes,” he said simply. “Now, if you want to roll back over and lie on me again, I won’t object.”

_____________________________________________

Robin’s Review

Fans of The Ascension Series have been waiting nearly a year for their next dose of young adult fantasy from author K.A. Linde. Although it’s been a long time coming, I promise The Consort will not leave you feeling disappointed! Rife with magical action, excitement and mystery, Linde packs so much adventure in this book that by the time you have finished, you’ll feel as if you’ve read two novels!

The Consort undeniably has a darker feel to it than the previous Ascension novels, beginning with Cyrene being held as a prisoner, accused of a crime she didn’t commit. Feeling betrayed and heartbroken, our lonely heroine finds herself at the complete mercy of others. Cyrene’s at the lowest point of her life, grasping for a way to move forward. We see Cyrene turn to an unlikely ally – Prince Kael Dremylon.

K.A. Linde left readers ruminating over a killer cliffhanger at the end of The Bound, but your questions about what happened at the end of that book will be answered. Just expect to have a whole new set of questions when you finish reading The Consort! If you are familiar with Linde’s writing, you know she has an evil streak. Prepare yourself because she doesn’t go easy on us! Characters will die, and in typical fashion, Linde will play with your emotions regarding Cyrene’s three suitors: King Edric, Crown Prince Kael, and Prince Dean Ellison of Eleysia.

Although a large portion of The Consort takes place in Byern, Cyrene’s adventures have her crisscrossing the continent of Emporia in the company of her friends. Linde revisits many of the secondary characters from the previous two books, The Affiliate and The Bound, but we are also introduced to several new characters, both good and bad. An obvious darkness has descended over the palace, so prepare yourself for plenty of deception, reveals, and court intrigue!

The information we learn in The Consort is more in-depth, as Cyrene digs even deeper into the mysteries of the ancient Doma. Cyrene discovers more about the Domina Serafina and how Sera’s past relates to her own uncharted destiny. In three novels, we have seen Cyrene develop beautifully from a naïve, young lady who only hopes to be named an Affiliate to an incredibly powerful woman who has the ability to control her own destiny. I’m excited to read about her continued journey and to see what she becomes!

For those who love reading new adult/contemporary romance novels written by K.A. Linde but have yet to venture into reading her Ascension Series, consider trying something new! You’ll find her same talent for writing romance and conversational dialogue, along with her penchant for lovingly playing on our emotions, mixed with the results of a brilliant imagination and rich world building. I LOVE this series! The Consort is one of my 2017 favorite novels! Congratulations to author K.A Linde for this 5-star rating!

 

 

 

 

 

ta-amazonThe Affiliate: Book 1

“With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, THE AFFILIATE is a breakneck fantasy ride that’s perfect for fans of THE SELECTION or THRONE OF GLASS.” –Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of TRUTHWITCH

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm’s lifelong plans come to fruition when she’s chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland–an Affiliate to the Queen.

Or so she thinks.

When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene’s position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have…

King Edric himself.

Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom. Find out in this first book in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

 

AmazoniBooks B&NKobo

 

 

tb-amazonCyrene Strohm is a Queen’s Affiliate, a high-ranking official of the court of Byern, with power and privilege to spare. But she’s also a keeper of dangerous secrets: like the fact that she holds the heart of the King, and that she possesses magic in a world where magic no longer exists.

Determined to discover what this means and how to use her newfound abilities, Cyrene sets off for the distant land of Eleysia. An island nation where Affiliates are strictly forbidden from entering.

But the journey is perilous, and the destination may mean utter ruin, as Cyrene comes to learn that everything she’s been told her whole life – about her court, her homeland, and even herself—are bound in a beautiful lie.

 

 

AmazoniBooksKobo Goodreads

 

 

 

 

K.A. Linde grew up as a military brat and created fantastical stories based off of her love for Disney movies, fairy tales, and Star Wars. In her spare time, she is an avid traveler, loves reading young adult novels, and dancing. Additionally, K.A. has written more than a dozen adult novels and is a USA Today bestselling author. She lives in Lubbock, TX with her husband and two super adorable puppies.

K.A. Linde loves to hear from her readers!

You can contact her at kalinde45@gmail.com or visit her online at one of the following sites:

www.kalinde.com

www.facebook.com/authorkalinde

@authorkalinde

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s